Pulmonary banner


FACULTY & STAFF


The Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep and Allergy has one of the largest faculties in the Department of Medicine. The clinical physicians include 19 pulmonary and critical care attendings, 2 allergist-internists, 1 neurologist-sleep specialist, and 1 internist-anesthesiologist. A pulmonary pathologist has a secondary appointment. The Chief of the Department of Medicine and Vice-President of Health Affairs are pulmonary and critical care physicians. There are more than 100 researchers in respiratory disease. 




 Steve Dudek     

Steven Dudek, MD
Division Chief, Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep & Allergy
Associate Professor
sdudek@uic.edu   
      




   ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Administrative Staff
312-996-8039


Jean Fitzpatrick

Director, Administrative Operations
jeanfitz@uic.edu

Karen Gordon
Administrative Assistant
gordonk@uic.edu

Sue Hammerschmidt
Fellowship Coordinator
shammer@uic.edu

Alejandra Martinez
Associate Director of Business Operations
agonza27@uic.edu




  Fellowship Program Directors

 
 schrauf   James herdegen 

     
Dean E. Schraufnagel, MD
Professor of Medicine and Pathology
Program Director, Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellowship
Vice-Chair for Faculty Affairs-Department of Medicine
schrauf@uic.edu
  James J. Herdegen, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
Director, Center for Sleep and Ventilatory Diseases
jherdege@uic.edu
 
   
             
  Faculty
             
 Patrick Belvitch, MD   Kamesh small 2    Finn small 2
 
James herdegen
Patrick Belvitch, MD
Instructor
pbelvitc@uic.edu
  Rama Kamesh Bikkavilli, PhD
Assistant Professor
kamesh@uic.edu
  Patricia W. Finn, MD
Professor and Head, Department of Medicine

   James J. Herdegen, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
Director, Center for Sleep and Ventilatory Diseases
jherdege@uic.edu

             
Jeffrey Jacobson, MD    Jaffe, MD    Min Joo, MD    Kovitz, MD 
Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine; Vice-Chair Scholarly Activities Department of Medicine
jrjacob@uic.edu
  H. Ari Jaffe, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Interim Chief Medicine, Jesse Brown VA Medical Center
howard.jaffe@va.gov
  Min Joo, MD, MPH, FCCP
Associate Professor of Medicine; Director, Pulmonary Division Jesse Brown VA Medical Center
joo@uic.edu
  Kevin Kovitz, MD, MBA, FCCP, FACP
Visiting Professor of Medicine & Surgery
Executive Director for Thoracic Services 
kkovitz@uic.edu
             
Krishnan hsp    Irena Levitan, PhD    Melvin Lopata, MD    Roberto Machado, MD 
Jerry A. Krishnan, MD, PhD 
Professor of Medicine and Public Health 
Associate Vice President for Population Health Sciences 
jakris@uic.edu
  Irena Levitan, PhD
Professor of Medicine
levitan@uic.edu
  Melvin Lopata, MD
Professor Emeritus of Medicine
mlopata@uic.edu
  Roberto Machado, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
machador@uic.edu
             
        Onal hsp small     Gye Young Park, MD, MSc
Viswanathan Natarajan, PhD
Professor of Medicine & Pharmacology
visnatar@uic.edu
  Sharmilee Nyenhuis, MD
Assistant Professor
snyenhui@uic.edu
  Ergün Önal, MD
Professor of Medicine
eonal@uic.edu
  Gye Young Park, MD, MSc
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Director of the Pulmonary and Diagnostic Laboratory
parkgy@uic.edu 
             
Bharati Prasad, MD    Israel Rubinstein, MD    Dr. Rebecca A Shilling    Sunit hsp small 
Bharati Prasad, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Medicine; Medical Director, MICU JBVAMC; Medical Director Center for Narcolepsy, Sleep and Health Research, UIC 
bpradsad@uic.edu
  Israel Rubinstein, MD
Professor of Medicine
Associate Chief of Staff for Research and Development, Jesse Brown VA Medical Center
irubinst@uic.edu
  Rebecca A. Shilling, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
shilling@uic.edu
  Sunit Singla, MD
Clinical Instructor of Medicine
ssingl6@uic.edu
             
Jyothi Tirumalasetty, MD    Robert Winn small         
Jyothi Tirumalasetty, MD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine; Chief of Allergy Division at Jesse Brown VA
jtsetty@uic.edu
  Robert A Winn, MD
Professor of Medicine
Associate Vice President for Health Affairs; Director, Lung Cancer Program, University of Illinois Hospital & Health System
rwinn@uic.edu
 
   
             

  Affiliated Faculty Members

             
        Corbridge small    Todd Lee small 
Steven J. Ackerman, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
sackerma@uic.edu

  David W. Carley, PhD
Professor, Biobehavioral Health Science, Medicine, Bioengineering; Director,
Center for Narcolepsy, Sleep & Health Research
  Susan Corbridge, PhD, APN, FAANP
Director of Graduate Clinical Studies, College of Nursing
sjsmith@uic.edu
  Todd A. Lee, PharmD, PhD
Associate Professor
Assistant Director, CPR
Pharmacy Practice
toddlee@uic.edu
             


     
 
  Marin Sekosan, MD
 
Asrar B Malik, PhD
Schweppe Family Distinguished Professor
Head, Dept of Pharmacology
abmalik@uic.edu

  Dolly Mehta, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology
dmehta@uic.edu 
  Richard Minshall, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Anesthesiology and Pharmacology
rminsh@uic.edu
  Marin Sekosan, MD
Chair, Division of Anatomic Pathology, John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County; Clinical Professor of Pathology, University of Illinois at Chicago
             
Sweiss
 
 
 
Nadera Sweiss, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine; Director, Sarcoidosis Translational Advanced Research Program (STAR)
nsweiss@uic.edu
  Chinnaswamy Tiruppathi, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
tiruc@uic.edu
  Terri Weaver, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dean, College of Nursing
Professor
teweaver@uic.edu
  Richard Ye, MD, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology
teyer@uic.edu

             



           









 

Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
jrjacob@uic.edu

Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
jrjacob@uic.edu

Jeffrey Jacobson, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
jrjacob@uic.edu